Skip to Content

Tennessee educator re-elected to NEA Executive Committee

Annual meeting delegates vote for teacher Earl Wiman

DENVER - July 07, 2014 -

Nearly 9,000 delegates to the National Education Association Representative Assembly (RA) voted to keep Tennessee teacher, Earl Wiman, on the Executive Committee. Wiman was first elected to the Association’s Executive Committee in 2011. He will begin serving his second three-year term in September.

“I’m honored to have the opportunity to continue work on behalf of public school students and educators,” said Wiman. “America’s public schools continue to face many challenges and need our help more than ever to ensure student success.”

A former kindergarten teacher, principal and media specialist in Nashville, Tenn., Wiman is also a past president of the Tennessee Education Association (TEA).

While serving on the Executive Committee, Wiman has helped lead NEA’s signature initiative to transform schools: “Leading the Professions.” NEA President Dennis Van Roekel called upon him to serve on the core leadership team for the development of a new NEA Leadership Curriculum and as a member of the planning team for the LGBTQ Dialogue. Wiman serves as the Executive Committee liaison to three Board committees: Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity, Legislative, and Professional Standards and Practices.

“As a classroom teacher Earl knows the challenges and difficulties public school students and educators face,” said NEA President Dennis Van Roekel. “Earl is committed to student success and elevating the profession. I am confident he will draw on his years of experience on the Executive Committee, as well as his more than 30 years in the classroom to deliver the promise of quality education for every student.”

President-elect Lily Eskelsen Garcia has tapped Wiman to shepherd NEA’s English Language Learners (ELL) training during his next term.

Prior to joining the Executive Committee, Wiman worked in Tennessee’s public schools for 35 years, serving as a kindergarten teacher, principal, and librarian. He was president of TEA from 2006 - 2010. He also served two terms as TEA’s vice president, and was a member of the state association’s Board of Directors. His Association leadership includes two terms as president of the Jackson-Madison County Education Association, six years on the NEA Resolutions Committee, and serving as vice president for governance for the National Council of State Education Associations.

Wiman earned his bachelor’s degree from Union University in Jackson, Tenn. and a master’s degree in education from the University of Memphis. He holds a doctorate in education from Trevecca Nazarene University in Nashville

The NEA Executive Committee consists of nine members—three executive officers and six members—elected at-large by the RA. The committee is responsible for guiding NEA policy and acts for the NEA Board of Directors in between its four regularly scheduled meetings each year.

Follow us on twitter at

# # #

The National Education Association is the nation’s largest professional employee organization, representing
more than 3 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators and students preparing to become teachers.

CONTACT: Celeste Busser
(202) 262-0589,